Traditional Class

1.   Falkland Islands, The ½d Stamps – John Baverstock
Vermeil Medal and Whytes Trophy


Postal History Class

2.   The ½d O’Clery postally used 1944-1972 – “Wayne Wright”
Silver-Bronze Medal

3.   Austro-Hungarian Empire in World War I – “Franz Joseph”
Silver Medal
4.   British Central Africa Protectorate – Ian Cubbin
Gold Medal and F.E. Dixon Shield
5.   Discovering West London – Frank McDonald
Gold Medal, David Feldman Trophy and Charles O’Neill Memorial Trophy
6.   Civil Engineering – “Peter L. Joseph”
Silver Medal

Open Class

7.   Germany – The Hitler Years, 1933-1945 –”PC 49″
Silver Medal and Michael Giffney Salver

8.   Celebrating Christmas – John Fitzsimons
Silver-Bronze Medal

9. Victoria Regina   –  Pat Casey
Silver Medal


10.    Graf Zeppelin 127 South American Airmail – Brian Callan
Gold Medal and William Kane Trophy

11.    Pan American Airways, 1928-1941 –  Gerry Byrne
Vermeil Medal *

One Frame Class

12.     Irish Rugby Football Union – Brian Warren
Vermeil Medal, Federation of Philatelic Societies of Ireland Trophy, Joseph E. Foley Memorial Award (E.P.A. Medal) and Irish Security Stamp Printing Limited Trophy
13.     The International Eucharistic Congress – Brian O’hArgadáin
Silver-Bronze Medal
14.     The Derry Mails – Rod Greer
Silver Medal and Éire Philatelic Association Certificate
15.     New York to North Pole by Submarine – “Aquaman”
Silver Medal
16.     Irish Official Mail Logos – Raymond Murphy
Vermeil Medal and Éire Philatelic Association Certificate *
17.     Newspaper Stamps of I.F.J. – Jörg Hofmann
Silver Medal and Éire Philatelic Association Certificate


18. Postage Dues of North Borneo, 1895-1939 – Brian O’Connell
Certificate of Participation
19. Water Conservation, Save Water, Save Life – Brian Harmon
Gwyn Bennett Trophy*: The Mercer R. Bowers Waterford Glass Crystal Award for best new or improved exhibit in the multi-frame and single frame classes respectively was also awarded to these exhibits.

At the Stampa Awards Dinner, the Roll of Distinguished Philatelists was signed by A.N.Other. The Federation of Philatelic Societies of Ireland Medal (for services to Irish Philately) was presented during the exhibition at the Federation’s AGM to Paul Appleby, Pat Casey and Michael Giffney.