Traditional Class

1.   Falkland Islands, The ½d Stamps – John Baverstock – Vermeil Medal and Whytes Trophy

Postal History Class

2.   The ½d O’Clery postally used 1944-1972 – “Wayne Wright” – Silver-Bronze Medal

3.   Austro-Hungarian Empire in World War I – “Franz Joseph” – Silver Medal
4.   British Central Africa Protectorate – Ian Cubbin – Gold Medal and the F.E. Dixon Shield
5.   Discovering West London – Frank McDonald – Gold Medal, the David Feldman Trophy               and the Charles O’Neill Memorial Trophy
6.   Civil Engineering – “Peter L. Joseph” – Silver Medal

Open Philately

7.   Germany – The Hitler Years, 1933-1945 –”PC 49″ – Silver Medal and the Michael Giffney            Salver

8.   Celebrating Christmas – John Fitzsimons – Silver-Bronze Medal

9.  Victoria Regina  –  Pat Casey – Silver Medal


10.    Graf Zeppelin 127 South American Airmail – Brian Callan – Gold Medal and the William             Kane Trophy

11.    Pan American Airways, 1928-1941 –  Gerry Byrne – Vermeil Medal *

One Frame Class

12.     Irish Rugby Football Union – Brian Warren
Vermeil Medal, Federation of Philatelic Societies of Ireland Trophy, Joseph E. Foley Memorial Award (E.P.A. Medal) and Irish Security Stamp Printing Limited Trophy
13.     The International Eucharistic Congress – Brian O’hArgadáin – Silver-Bronze Medal
14.     The Derry Mails – Rod Greer – Silver Medal and Éire Philatelic Association Certificate
15.     New York to North Pole by Submarine – “Aquaman” – Silver Medal
16.     Irish Official Mail Logos – Raymond Murphy – Vermeil Medal and an Éire                                     Philatelic Association Certificate *
17.     Newspaper Stamps of I.F.J. – Jörg Hofmann – Silver Medal and an Éire
          Philatelic Association Certificate


18. Postage Dues of North Borneo, 1895-1939 – Brian O’Connell – Certificate of Participation
19. Water Conservation, Save Water, Save Life – Brian Harmon – Gwyn Bennett Trophy*:
*The Mercer R. Bowers Waterford Glass Crystal Award for best new or improved exhibit in the multi-frame and single frame classes respectively was also awarded to these exhibits.

At the Stampa Awards Dinner, the Roll of Distinguished Philatelists was signed by Héloïse Mitchell. The Federation of Philatelic Societies of Ireland Medal (for services to Irish Philately) was presented during the exhibition at the Federation’s AGM to Paul Appleby, Pat Casey and Michael Giffney.